Chris Garvi

‘I will walk along the Huveaune’

Garvi’s work is based along the river Huveane, which runs close to Garvi’s home in the south of France.

Garvi talks about the project – “I want to photograph the passage of man, his intervention and the changes these interventions operate on the environment …I want to see what it is to live along this river, so vital but so fragile. I chose to photograph the people I meet along the way : let the chance take its course, the magic of a portrait like lilies on the surface of the water.!

‘Beyond the factual and economic role of the river along the valley, it is the possibility of a poetic journey that attracted me…and this crazy plan they have in mind to cover up the river as it enters the city of Marseille ! “I will walk along the Huveaune” is a reaction to that plan.’ Chris Garvi (photo8.com)

Garvi’s work was inspired by Alec Soth’s ‘Sleeping by the Mississippi’ work, after he’d seen Soth’s book, I’m also going to look at this work.

Chris Garvi 2Chris Garvi 1  Chris Garvi

http://www.foto8.com/live/will-walk-along-huveaune-chris-garvi/

Leave a Reply

